Hello Again

Yesterday when I went to visit my new workplace at the UNESCO Commission in Remera, Kigali I was able to access the wonderful invention of the late 20th century which in a lot of tongues is called internet. When I did so I was flooded by tons of messages which I had to answer. This evoked in me a thrilling feeling and primarily it told me one thing: It was time for an entry into this blog.

Our Office Building
Having come to this conclusion, I am know sitting at my desk in the Office of the “Head of Education, Associated Schools, UNESCO Clubs and youth department” (please prove me wrong if that doesn’t sound kind of impressive to you) Mr. Kalisa Callixte to write.

Through a secret contact (who cannot be mentioned at this point) I had the pleasure of being picked up from the airport by Emmanuel who has invited me to live at his place for the first days until I find my own apartment. I ate at his place in the evening and yesterday we went into town to buy a Rwandan simcard for me. I have already rediscovered the comfortability of the common Moto-Taxi’s which take you anywhere around town for a rather cheap amount money. With the basic Kinyarwanda vocabulary (the language that I will try to learn in the next 12 months) it is quite easy to get where you want to go and I also made some quick friends at the Commission with the few phrases I picked up.

I am still looking for an apartment as most things that you can find over the internet are rather expensive and I do not want to spend my year with a couple of mid-thirties who are living in their little european world. Also, most places that one can find on the internet come with house guards and maids and I have a little two much self respect and a young persons belief in dignity and independence, to have other people working for me just because I am white and I have money.

Simon (the German volunteer who is working at the Goethe Institute) might have found a place at Nyamirambo (it’s the word on the streets that this is the most exciting, thrilling and awesomenest part of Kigali). It would be quite a long time to get to work from there but If I find a nice place it’s probably worth it. I will keep you posted on how my search is continuing.

In the next days I might also upload some more pictures. I haven’t taken a lot yet because there was enough other stuff to be done. (Another reason might be the radical haircut that the wonderful Daniel and the beautiful razor gave me at around 12 o’clock the day before my departure. Pictures of me can be censored until my full bunch of hair has returned to my head).

For those people that actually care about where I work you can check out this link: http://www.unesco.rw .
What I will be doing and what the people in the National Comission will hopefully enlighten me in the next days.
Urabeho, Au revoir, Bis denn,

Leo

2 thoughts on “Hello Again

  1. TO FALCON
    FROM SPARROW
    URGENT REPEAT URGENT CAKE IS BAKED STOP ESTABLISH ENCRYPTED COMMUNICATION ASAP TO SEND MORE CONTACTS REPEAT ASAP STOP WHY AM I SPARROW I WANT TO BE FALCON STOP REPLY URGENTLY STOP
    DEATH TO ALL EXPATS STOP GOMA FOREVA

    Like

    1. TO SPARROW
      FROM FALCON
      MAJOR TECHNICAL ISSUES STOP CONTACT WILL BE SET UP THE NEXT WEEKS STOP THE MILKMAN CANNOT KNOW STOP
      DID NOT UNDERSTAND FALCON AND ARROW STOP
      GREETINGS FROM E. STOP

      Like

Leave a Reply

